Celebrating Excellence in SRS, SBRT and Related Focal Therapies

At the biennial ISRS Congress, we take great pride in recognizing and celebrating exceptional achievements in the fields of SRS, SBRT and other focal therapies. The ISRS Awards are prestigious honors bestowed upon individuals who have demonstrated outstanding contributions, innovative research, and significant advancements in their field. Join us as we celebrate the remarkable accomplishments of our esteemed colleagues and inspire future breakthroughs.

Fabrikant Award 2022

Ian Paddick receiving the Fabrikant award at the ISRS 2022 congress event.

During the closing session of the ISRS 2022 congress in Milan, Ian Paddick received the Fabrikant award for his longstanding and significant contributions to the field of radiosurgery. His invited ‘Fabrikant lecture’ covered his work on developing and publishing indexes, like the Paddick Conformity Index, the Gradient Index and the Efficiency Index, and emphasized the importance of being able to standardize treatments so that centers can compare their data. He also talked about ways we can improve clinical research and encouraged us to question dogma which is holding back the discipline of SRS.

I’m truly humbled to receive this award. It’s the first time a physicist has received the prize on their own and I’m also the first recipient from the UK. The award is usually given to radiation oncologists or neurosurgeons but this year’s award demonstrates that physicists are valued by clinicians and make a significant contribution to shaping clinical practice.” I’ve published over 50 articles on stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) and have been lucky to have my work on indices incorporated in all the major treatment planning systems. I’ve also been fortunate enough to visit and teach at over 100 Gamma Knife centers around the world so my work really has a global reach. Current and future research is in the area of radiobiology where I believe we can make significant improvements in the efficacy and consistency of treatments.” Ian Paddick was the first physicist to serve as President of the Society (2017-2019) and now serves as an ex-officio member of the Board, where he chairs the ISRS Certification Service.

Jacob I. Fabrikant Award

The Fabrikant Award is awarded every two years to an individual or individuals who are members of the ISRS and have made longstanding and significant contributions to the field of radiosurgery.

The Awards Committee selects the awardee who is then notified by the Board of Directors between September and December of the year preceding the ISRS Biennial Congress. The award is presented during the closing session of the Congress and is followed by an invited lecture by the Awardee who receives a grant and a commemorative certificate.

Learn more about Jacob I. Fabrikant’s contributions and legacy.


  • 2022 Ian Paddick, UK
  • 2019 John Adler, USA
  • 2017 Ben J Slotman, The Netherlands
  • 2015 German Rey & Roberto Martinez, Spain
  • 2013 Bruce Pollock, USA
  • 2011 Masaaki Yamamoto, Japan
  • 2009 Jean Régis, France
  • 2007 Douglas Kondziolka, USA
  • 2005 Federico Colombo, Italy & David Larson, USA
  • 2003 Tatsuya Kobayashi, Japan & John Flickinger, USA
  • 2001 Jay S. Loeffler, Frank Bova, William Friedman, USA
  • 1999 Christer Lindquist, Sweden
  • 1997 L. Dade Lunsford, USA & Juan Barcia-Salorio, Spain
  • 1995 Erik-Olof Backlund, Norway & Börje Larsson, Sweden

Young Investigator Award

Young Investigator Award 2022 - Rosario Mazzola, Italy

The Young Investigator awardee is chosen for the best oral presentation at the ISRS Congress. Recipients must currently be in a training program (either clinical or postdoctoral) and under 35 years old. The award consists of a grant and a commemorative certificate. The award is given during the closing session of the Congress. Candidates should apply for this award by indicating their candidature in the abstract submission process and provide a letter from their institution of study that verifies their status.


  • 2022 Rosario Mazzola, Italy
  • 2019 Christopher Graffeo, USA
  • 2017 Alexis Dimitriadis, UK
  • 2015 Charles Rutter, USA
  • 2013 Isabelle Thibault, Canada
  • 2011 Toru Serizawa, Japan
  • 2009 Scott Soltys, USA
  • 2007 Vanessa Panettieri, Spain
  • 2005 Jose Lorenzoni, Brussels
  • 2003 Jeremy Rowe, UK

Young Professional Award

Young Professional Award 2022 - Anne Balossier, France

The Young Professional Award recognizes young professionals who have made notable contributions to the field of radiosurgery early in their career. To be eligible, young professionals must be under the age of 35, the main author and presenter of an original scientific contribution (oral presentation) at the ISRS Biennial Congress and indicate their candidature during the abstract submission process. The Awardee will be selected by the Awards Committee during the ISRS Biennial Congress and the award will be presented to the individual during the closing session. The award includes a commemorative certificate.


  • 2022 Anne Balossier, France
  • 2019 Daniel Trifiletti, USA
  • 2013 Constantin Tuleasca, Switzerland
  • 2011 Kaoru Tamura, Japan
  • 2009 Sean Park, USA

Best Poster Award

Best Poster Award 2022 - Adrian Gutiérrez, Belgium

At each ISRS Congress, the author of an outstanding poster will be awarded with the Best Poster Award. A jury consisting of distinguished scientists announces the winning poster during the poster session. The award is presented during the closing session of the Congress and the awardee receives free registration to the next congress and a commemorative certificate. Candidates should apply for this award through indicating interest in being considered during the abstract submission process.


  • 2022 Adrian Gutiérrez, Belgium
  • 2019 Lukas Knybel, Czech Republic
  • 2017 Kate Carroll, USA
  • 2015 T. Furuya, Japan
  • 2013 Sangroh Kim, USA
  • 2011 Soha Al-Omar, Canada
  • 2009 Seung Yeob Yang, Korea
  • 2007 Koichi Mitsuya, Japan
  • 2005 Stefan Scheib, Switzerland

Lars Leksell Lecture

The Lars Leksell lecture takes place at each ISRS Congress to honor the contributions of Lars Leksell to radiosurgery. The first one was presented at the ISRS Congress in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in June 2019. The title of the lecture was: . Moderators: Antonio De Salles (Brazil), Laura Fariselli (Italy), Marc Levivier (Switzerland), Ian Paddick (UK), Jean Regis (France).


  • 2022 Dade Lunsford, USA
    • “The Origins of Radiosurgery as an Overture to its Role in Brain Metastasis. Finding a Better Way …”
  • 2019 Christer Lindquist, Sweden
    • “Gamma Knife Radiosurgery from Leksell to the Present: An lnsider’s View”