International Stereotactic Radiosurgery Society

Become a member | Log In | Contact us


Jacob I. Fabrikant Award

The Fabrikant Award is awarded every two years to an individual or individuals who are members of the ISRS and have made longstanding and significant contributions to the field of radiosurgery. The Education and Awards Committee recommends awardees to the Board of Directors who will notify the awardee (between September and December). The award is presented during the closing session of the ISRS biennial Congress.  The award includes a grant of $5000 and a commemorative certificate.

Download here the Jacob I. Fabrikant History & In Memoriam document


    • 2019 - John Adler
    • 2017 - Ben J Slotman
    • 2015 - Roberto Martinez & German Rey
    • 2013 - Bruce Pollock
    • 2011 - Masaaki Yamamoto
    • 2009 - Jean Régis
    • 2007 - Douglas Kondziolka
    • 2005 - Federico Colombo, David Larson 
    • 2003 - Tatsuya Kobayashi, John Flickinger
    • 2001 - Jay S. Loeffler, Frank Bova, William Friedman
    • 1999 - Christer Lindquist
    • 1997 - L. Dade Lunsford, Juan Barcia-Salorio
    • 1995 - Erik-Olof Backlund, Borje Larsson

Young Investigator Award

The Young Investigator awardee is chosen according to the best presentation of a scientific paper (oral presentation) at the ISRS Congress for a person who is currently in a training program (either a clinical resident or postdoctoral) and is under 35 years old. To apply, indicate your candidature on the abstract submission form and provide a letter from your institution of study that verifies your enrollment. The award consists of a grant of $1000, covering part of the expenses to attend the Congress and a commemorative certificate. The first award was presented at the 2003 Congress. The award is given during the closing session of the ISRS biennial Congress. Candidates should apply for this award through abstract submission to the next ISRS congress. Click here to submit your abstract!


    • 2019 - Christopher Graffeo, USA
    • 2017 - Alexis Dimitriadis, United Kingdom
    • 2015 - Charles Rutter, USA
    • 2013 - Isabelle Thibault, Canada
    • 2011 - Toru Serizawa, Japan
    • 2009 - Scott Soltys, USA
    • 2007 - Vanessa Panettieri, Spain
    • 2005 - Jose Lorenzoni, Brussels
    • 2003 - Jeremy Rowe, UK

Best Poster Award

At each ISRS Congress, an outstanding poster will be awarded with the ISRS Best Poster Award. A jury consisting of distinguished scientists announces the winning poster during the poster session. The award is presented during the closing session of the Congresses. This award was created in 2005 and consists of the credit to registration to the next congress and a commemorative certificate. Candidates should apply for this award through abstract submission to the next ISRS congress. Click here to submit your abstract!


    • 2019 - Lukas Knybel, Czech Republic
    • 2017 - Kate Carroll, USA
    • 2015 - T. Furuya, Japan
    • 2013 - Sangroh Kim, USA
    • 2011 - Soha Al-Omar, Canada
    • 2009 - Seung Yeob Yang, Korea
    • 2007 - Koichi Mitsuya, Japan
    • 2005 - Stefan Scheib, Zurich

Young Professional ISRS Award

The Young Professional ISRS Award is a new initiative (since 2009) to recognize young professionals who have made notable contributions to any field of radiosurgery.  To be eligible, young professionals (neurosurgeons, oncologists, and radiation physicists) must be under the age of 35, the main author and presenter of an original scientific contribution (oral presentation) at the ISRS biennial Congress, and indicate their candidature on the abstract submission form. The winning work will be selected by the Education and Awards Committee during the ISRS biennial Congress and the award will be presented to the individual during the closing session. The award consists of $2500 and a commemorative certificateCandidates should apply for this award through abstract submission to the next ISRS congress. Click here to submit your abstract!


    • 2019 - Daniel Trifiletti, USA
    • 2013 - Constantin Tuleasca, France
    • 2011 - Kaoru Tamura, Japan
    • 2009 - Sean Park, USA

Lars Leksell Functional Radiosurgery Fellowship

The Lars Leksell Functional Radiosurgery Fellowship, awarded biennially, provides a $12000 grant for a three-month fellowship, starting in September (the year of the ISRS congress), at Marseille University Hospital, La Timone, France to study radiosurgery for functional disorders.

This unique fellowship is under the direction of Professor Jean Régis, the internationally recognized expert in the subspecialized and growing area of functional radiosurgery.  One of the few centers in the world with two dedicated intracranial cranial radiosurgery devices, Dr. Regis’s program provides an unparalleled opportunity to gain experience in patient selection, imaging, targeting and treatment planning, learn from more than two decades of experience in the radiosurgical treatment of movement disorders, behavioral disorders, epilepsy and pain and receive novel insights into ongoing basic and clinical research.

This Fellowship memorializes Lars Leksell’s pioneering role in establishing the field of radiosurgery and his deep interest in stereotactic surgery and radiosurgery for functional disorders.   The ISRS is grateful for a grant from the Leksell Gamma Knife Society which has made this Fellowship possible.

Interested candidates who have successfully completed an accredited residency training program and are board certified in neurological surgery or radiation oncology should complete the application form and send it to the ISRS Secretariat:

Deadline: January 15, 2019


  • 2019 - Gustavo Lucas Garategui, Argentina